About Baldrige

Named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th Secretary of Commerce, the Baldrige Award was established by Congress in 1987 to enhance the competitiveness and performance of U.S. organizations. The award is not given for specific products or services. Since 1988, 93 organizations have received Baldrige Awards.


The 2017-2018 Criteria reflect the validated management practices of the current business environment, with special attention to innovation and risk management, use of social media, operational effectiveness, and work systems as a strategic concept.

Learn More

The Baldrige Framework

Learn more about the Malcom Baldrige framework and how it can help your organization

About the Baldrige Framework

The Baldrige Excellence Framework helps you identify and leverage your strengths and prepare you to face your challenges.
Click Here

Performance Excellence Criteria

Learn more about the Criteria for Performance Excellence

Organizational Profile

Download the Free Organizational Profile for nonprofits
Download PDF

Baldrige Excellence Building

Helps you identify and improve what is critical to your organization’s success

Baldrige Excellence Builder

Assess your organization against the most important features of organizational performance excellence
Download PDF